Saturday, May 25th, 2024

T20 World Cup 2024: The team which never became champion has the highest score of 200+ in its name.

New Delhi. The 9th edition of the ICC T20 World Cup is going to start in June with the match between America and Canada. T20 World Cup was organized for the first time in the year 2007 and South Africa became its host. In the 8 seasons of the tournament so far, 6 teams have achieved the honor of becoming champions. While West Indies and England have won the trophy twice each, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Australia have won this distinction once each. First i.e. in the 2007 T20 World Cup, where Team India became the champion, whereas the last time England achieved this credit was in the 2022 World Cup.

Among the 12 full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), none of South Africa, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland and Zimbabwe have won either the ODI or T20 World Cup. Out of these, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland and Zimbabwe teams could never make it to the semi-finals, while New Zealand, despite reaching the final in the 2021 T20 World Cup, was deprived of the title by losing to Australia. Similarly, the South African team is also far away from the title despite reaching the semi-finals twice (2009, 2014). The interesting thing is that despite scoring 200+ 5 times in the T20 World Cup history, the South African team has not been able to even make it to the finals, leave alone the title. Apart from South Africa, no other team has been able to touch the figure of 200 or more runs more than twice.

Sri Lankan team’s two records of the first T20 World Cup are still intact, will they be broken this time?

South Africa scored 200+ scores maximum 5 times
So far, 200 runs or more have been scored 14 times in the T20 World Cup. South Africa, known as ‘chokers’ due to their series of losses in big matches, has done so five times, West Indies, England and India have done so twice each while Sri Lanka, Pakistan and New Zealand have done so once each. The highest score of the tournament (260 runs, year 2007) is in the name of Sri Lankan team. South Africa team is the only team which has scored 200+ twice in one edition of the World Cup. The team had done this in the year 2016 but in this WC the team could not even reach the semi-finals.

4-4-0-2… A bowler who has bowled all four maiden overs in T20I will also play in the World Cup.

These are the top 5 scores of South Africa’s T20 World Cup
1. 229/4 vs England, T20 World Cup 2016
(With the help of Hashim Amla’s 58 runs, Quinton de Kock’s 52 runs and JP Duminy’s unbeaten 54 runs, South Africa had scored 229 runs losing 4 wickets, but thanks to Joe Root’s 83 runs, England chased the score losing 8 wickets.)
2. 211/5 vs Scotland, World Cup 2009
(With the help of AB de Villiers’ unbeaten 79, Jacques Kallis’ 48 and captain Graeme Smith’s 38 runs, South Africa had scored 211 runs after losing 5 wickets. In reply, the Scotland team was bundled out for 81 runs. South Africa won the match by 130 runs. Won from.)
3. 209/5 vs Afghanistan, World Cup 2016
(With the help of AB de Villiers’ 64, Quinton de Kock’s 45 and captain Faf du Plessis’s 41 runs, South Africa had scored 209 runs after losing 5 wickets. In reply, Afghanistan team was out for 172 runs. South Africa won the match by 37 runs. Won from.)
4. 208/2 vs West Indies, World Cup 2007
(In the match, with the help of Chris Gayle’s 117 runs, West Indies scored 205 runs after losing 6 wickets in 20 overs. In reply, with the help of Herschelle Gibbs’ 90 and Justin Camp’s unbeaten 46 runs, South Africa scored two wickets in 17.4 overs.) After losing, the team won the match by 8 wickets.
5. 205/5 vs Bangladesh, World Cup 2022
(In the match, with the help of Riley Roseau’s 109 runs and Quinton de Kock’s 63 runs, South Africa had scored 205 runs for five wickets in 20 overs. In reply, Bangladesh team was out after scoring 101 runs in 16.3 overs. South Africa in the match Won by 104 runs.)

Who is the best spinner in T20I? Rashid or Kuldeep Yadav, know the words of numbers

6 times South Africa’s journey ended in the second round
The South African team, which looks very strong on paper, has reached the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup twice so far, while six times its journey has ended in the second round itself. The South African team will participate in the World Cup 2024 under the leadership of Aiden Markram. The team also has good players like Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, T Stubbs and Gerald Coetzee. In such a situation, it will be interesting to see whether the South African team’s dream of winning the trophy is fulfilled this time or not.

tag: number game, South Africa, t20 world cup

Share on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *