Tuesday, May 28th, 2024

The match was in Mumbai’s grasp, the 22 year old bowler made the game on the last 6 balls.


Harshit Rana took 2 wickets in the last over KKR snatched victory from Mumbai’s mouth

New Delhi. Kolkata Knight Riders has become the first team to reach the playoffs of IPL 2024. KKR won the playoff ticket with 18 points by defeating Mumbai Indians by 18 runs in the last over. In this exciting match played at Eden Gardens, fast bowler Harshit Rana played an important role in KKR’s victory, who snatched the victory from the grasp of Mumbai Indians in the last over. KKR captain Shreyas Iyer ignored world class bowler Mitchell Starc and played a gamble with Harshit Rana in the last over, which proved correct. Harshit was successful in living up to his captain’s trust. He single-handedly changed the result of the match by bowling brilliantly in a pressured moment.

Mumbai Indians needed 22 runs to win in the last over. KKR captain Shreyas Iyer decided to bowl the last over i.e. the 16th over with Harshit Rana. Naman Dheer and Anshul Kamboj were at the crease. Harshit gave a big blow to Mumbai by getting Naman Dheer caught by Rinku Singh on the first ball. Naman was out after scoring 17 runs on 6 balls. On the second ball, Anshul Kamboj took one run and gave a strike to the set batsman Tilak Verma. On the third ball, Harshit got Tilak caught by Philip Salt. New batsman Piyush Chawla did not score any runs on the fourth ball. Piyush took a run on the fifth ball and gave strike to Anshul. Anshul took one run on the sixth and last ball. In this way, Mumbai team remained 18 runs behind the target of 158 runs set by KKR.

If not Rishabh Pant then who? Who will captain Delhi against RCB in a do-or-die match, the coach announced the new captain.

KKR remained at seventh position for two consecutive seasons
Kolkata Knight Riders remained at seventh place for the last two seasons. KKR finished seventh in the points table in 2022 and 2023. But in 2024, this team became the first team to qualify for the playoffs. While openers Phil Salt and Sunil Narayan dominated the entire tournament in batting for KKR, Varun Chakraborty, Harshit Rana, Sunil Narayan, Andre Russell, Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora made a splash in bowling.

Shreyas Iyer did wonders under captaincy
Under his captaincy, Shreyas Iyer has taken Delhi Capitals to the finals. He was the first captain of the team to take Delhi to the finals. After Delhi, he has also given playoff ticket to Kolkata. Shreyas has shown excellent leadership after recovering from the difficult last two seasons.

tag: ipl 2024, kkr vs mi, Kolkata Knight Riders, Shreyas Iyer

Share on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *