Your Page Title

Lok Sabha Elections: Voting for the 5th phase today, fate of 695 candidates will be decided, many veterans in the electoral fray

New Delhi: Today is the fifth phase of voting under the Lok Sabha elections being conducted in seven phases in the country. In this phase, votes will be cast for 49 Lok Sabha seats in eight states. The Election Commission has made complete preparations for this. In view of the increasing heat, the Commission has made adequate arrangements at all the polling stations. 695 candidates are contesting for this phase. Whose electoral fate will be captured in EVM today.

Many veterans in the electoral fray

In this phase, elections will also be held on many important Lok Sabha seats including Lucknow and Rae Bareli. From where the fate of many Union Ministers and senior Congress leaders will also be sealed in EVMs today. These include Union Defense Minister Rajnath Singh from Lucknow seat, senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi from Rae Bareli, Union Minister Smriti Irani from Amethi, Brij Bhushan’s son Karan Bhushan from Kaiserganj, Union Minister Piyush Goyal from Mumbai North is contesting the Lok Sabha elections for the first time. Apart from these, Bharti Praveen Panwar from Dindori seat of Maharashtra, Omar Abdullah from Baramulla and Chirag Paswan from Hajipur are also trying their luck.

Where will the voting take place?

The Election Commission said that in this phase, voting will be held for five Lok Sabha seats of Bihar, one of Jammu and Kashmir, three of Jharkhand, one of Ladakh, 13 of Maharashtra, five of Orissa, 1 of Uttar Pradesh and seven of West Bengal. The timing of voting will be from 7 am to 6 pm. All voters will enter the polling station premises till 6 pm. All of them will cast their votes even after 6 o’clock. No matter what the time.

Election data for this phase

  • There are more than 8.95 crore voters in 49 Lok Sabha seats. These include 4.69 crore men, 4.26 crore women and 5,409 third gender.
  • Nearly 9.47 lakh polling officers
  • 94,732 polling stations
  • More than 7.81 lakh voters who have crossed the age of 85 years are eligible for this phase.
  • 24,792 voters above 100 years of age
  • There are 7.03 lakh physically handicapped (PWD) voters.
  • 153 observers (55 general observers, 30 police observers, 68 expenditure observers). All of them have reached their constituencies a few days before voting.
  • Special observers have also been deployed in some states.
  • To deal strictly and swiftly with any inducement of voters, 2000 flying squads, 2105 static surveillance teams, 881 video surveillance teams and 502 video surveillance teams have been deployed for round-the-clock surveillance. Have been done.
  • 216 International Border Check Posts and 565 Interstate Border Check Posts are keeping a strict vigil on any illegal movement of liquor, drugs, cash and free goods. Strict surveillance is being maintained on sea and air routes.
  • 17 special trains and 508 helicopter flights were arranged to transport polling parties and security personnel to their election duties.
Share on:

Leave a Comment