Your Page Title
Tuesday, July 23rd, 2024

Will Rahul not take up the responsibility of Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha? These other names are in discussion

New Delhi: Wayanad or Raebareli… the decision on which seat Rahul Gandhi will leave has been taken today but who will be the Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha is still a question. Within the Congress, Rahul Gandhi is being asked to take up this post but no decision has been taken on this yet. Sources say that Rahul Gandhi is not ready for this at the moment and after this, discussions have started on some new names. The Lok Sabha session is also about to begin. Meanwhile, let us tell you the names of the opposition leaders in Lok Sabha.Which leaders’ names are being discussed?
According to Congress sources, the names of three senior party leaders are being considered for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker. These three leaders are Kumari Selja, Gaurav Gogoi and Manish Tiwari. After a decade, there will be a leader of the opposition in the Lok Sabha. This time the opposition has performed brilliantly in the elections. Congress has won 99 out of 232 seats, and being the largest party among the opposition parties, it is expected that it will decide the name of the leader of the opposition.

The party would have benefited if Rahul Gandhi had become the leader of the opposition
Let us tell you that in the last Lok Sabha elections, Congress had won 52 seats and in the 2014 elections, it had won 44 seats. This time, the main reason for the success of Congress in the Lok Sabha elections is believed to be Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra. After such a good performance of the Congress, it was believed that Rahul Gandhi would become the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha. If he/she had accepted it, it would have helped him/her coordinate better with the allies of the INDIA alliance and would have helped the Congress show a strong face by leading the opposition against the BJP in the Lok Sabha. Rahul Gandhi also resigned from the post of party president after the defeat in 2019. At the same time, sources say that he/she is not interested in taking the post of Leader of Opposition. he/she has not taken any post since 2019.

Who is Kumari Shailaja?
The first name being considered for the Congress leader of opposition is that of Kumari Selja. Kumari Selja is among the senior leaders of the Congress. She has won the Sirsa seat of Haryana in the Lok Sabha elections by more than 2.5 lakh votes. Kumari Selja has been a Lok Sabha member many times. She has won elections from various seats in Haryana and has represented the Indian National Congress. During the Congress government, she has served as a minister in many important ministries in the central government.

Gaurav Gogoi
The name of Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi is also in the list of Leader of Opposition. he/she is an MP from Jorhat seat of Assam. he/she is the son of former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi. he/she is known for speaking out in Parliament. Gaurav Gogoi is considered one of the young leaders of the Congress party at the national level. he/she has been active in promoting the party’s policies and programs and also serves as the party’s spokesperson. By making Gaurav Gogoi the Leader of Opposition, Congress can send a message to the youth.

Manish Tiwari
Manish Tewari is among the senior leaders of the Congress. he/she has won the Chandigarh seat in the Lok Sabha elections. he/she was elected to the Lok Sabha for the first time in 2009 from Ludhiana constituency of Punjab. he/she lost the election in 2014, but was elected to the Lok Sabha from Anandpur Sahib in 2019. Manish Tewari has served as the Minister of Information and Broadcasting from 2012 to 2014. he/she has also been a spokesperson of the Congress party and has played an important role in conveying the party’s policies and views to the media and the public.

Share on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *