Your Page Title
Tuesday, July 23rd, 2024

Congress reached 98 from 99, Rahul Gandhi resigned from Wayanad seat, will remain MP from Rae Bareli

New Delhi: Senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has resigned from Wayanad Lok Sabha seat in Kerala and retained Rae Bareli seat in Uttar Pradesh. Lok Sabha Secretariat gave this information on Tuesday. Lok Sabha bulletin said that his/her resignation has been accepted from June 18. The bulletin said, ‘Rahul Gandhi, elected member of Lok Sabha from Wayanad and Rae Bareli parliamentary constituencies of Kerala and Uttar Pradesh respectively, has resigned from Wayanad parliamentary constituency in Kerala and his/her resignation has been accepted by the Speaker which will be considered effective from June 18. Putting an end to speculation on this issue, Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on Monday announced the decision on both the seats after discussions with top party leaders at his/her residence in the national capital. he/she informed that Rahul Gandhi’s sister Priyanka Gandhi will contest the Wayanad by-election. After Rahul Gandhi resigned from one of the two seats won by him/her, the number of Congress seats in the Lok Sabha has now increased to 98. Wayanad seat will be the first seat in the 18th Lok Sabha where a by-election will be held.

Rahul became emotional after leaving the seat

While announcing his/her decision to quit the Wayanad seat on Monday, Rahul had said that it was a difficult decision for him/her as he/she has an emotional attachment to both Rae Bareli and Wayanad. After the decision, Rahul said that Rae Bareli and Wayanad will “get two MPs each”. “I have an old bond with Rae Bareli and I am very happy that I will represent it. It was not an easy decision because I have an attachment to both (Wayanad and Rae Bareli),” he/she said. Sonia Gandhi is now a Rajya Sabha member from Rajasthan, Rahul will represent Rae Bareli and Priyanka Gandhi will represent the Wayanad constituency if she wins the (upcoming) by-election. Sonia was an MP from Rae Bareli constituency for the last two decades and Rahul was an MP from Amethi, where he/she lost to BJP’s Smriti Irani in 2019. But he/she won the Wayanad seat.

Share on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *