Your Page Title
Monday, July 15th, 2024

Chennai born bowler has taken a hat-trick in T20 WC, know who did this feat

New Delhi. With the announcement of most of the teams, the ‘countdown’ for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 has started. As soon as the final of IPL 2024 takes place on 26th May, the excitement of T20 World Cup will start rising in the heads of cricket fans. The T20 World Cup, to be jointly hosted by West Indies and America, will begin on June 1, 2024 with the match between America and Canada, while the final will be played on June 29. This time 20 teams are taking part in the tournament, which have been divided into four groups of five teams each. Team India has been placed in Group ‘A’ with arch-rival Pakistan. The match between these two teams will be played in New York on June 9.

Let us tell you, T20I started on 17 February 2005 with the match between New Zealand and Australia in Auckland. The first World Cup of this format was held in South Africa in 2007 in which Team India achieved the honor of becoming champion. The tournament has been organized 8 times so far. West Indies and England have become champions twice each, while India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Australia have captured the trophy once each. Till now in the history of T20I, he has taken wicket i.e. hat-trick in three consecutive balls 58 times. Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga, New Zealand’s Tim Southee, Serbia’s Mark Pavlovic and Malta’s Wasim Abbas have taken hat-tricks twice each in T20Is.

Talking about T20 World Cup, till now only six bowlers have been able to take the ‘trio’ in this prestigious tournament. Australia’s Brett Lee became the first bowler to take a hat-trick in T20I, he achieved this feat against Bangladesh in the 2007 T20 World Cup. Since Brett Lee, two bowlers from Ireland and one bowler each from Sri Lanka, South Africa and UAE have taken a hat-trick in the T20 World Cup. Apart from India, New Zealand and Pakistan, no bowler from the veteran teams like two-time champions England and West Indies has been able to take a hat-trick in the T20 World Cup so far. No bowler of Team India has so far been able to take a hat-trick in the T20 World Cup, but a player born in India has achieved this feat while playing for the team of another country.

Cricketers whose career ended due to injury or health, one was the captain of India.

Born on 8 October 2000 in Chennai and playing for United Arab Emirates (UAE) Karthik Meiyappan (Karthik Meiyappan) had registered his name among the special bowlers who took a hat-trick in the match against Sri Lanka in the 2022 T20 World Cup. Karthik’s father PL Meiyappan was also a leg spinner and played league cricket in Tamil Nadu. Later he reached UAE in connection with work. When Karthik started playing cricket, he was a fast bowler. Soon he realized that his body was not strong enough for fast bowling, so he started leg spin bowling. Shane Warne has always been Karthik’s favorite spinner. Apart from this, 23 year old Karthik is also impressed by the bowling of Wanindu Hasaranga.

‘Nobody becomes Virat just like that’, ‘King Kohli’s bat roars in T20 WC

Let’s take a look at the bowlers who took hat-tricks in the T20 World Cup…

ICC T20 World Cup 2024, T20 World Cup, Hattrick in T20 World Cup, Karthik Meiyappan, Brett Lee, Curtis Campher, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kagiso Rabada,Josh Little, ICC T20 World Cup 2024, T20 World Cup, Hattrick in T20 World Cup, Brett Lee, Karthik Meiyappan, Kurtil Kaempfer, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kagiso Rabada, Josh Little

1. Australian brett lee (Brett Lee) is the first bowler to take a hat-trick in T20I as well as T20 World Cup. This Australian speedster did this feat against Bangladesh in Cape Town on 16 September 2007. During Bangladesh’s batting, after getting Shakib Al Hasan caught by wicketkeeper Gilchrist on the third ball of the 17th over of the innings, he bowled Mashrafe Mortaza and LBW Alok Kapali on the next two balls. Australia won the match by 9 wickets and Lee (3/27) was the player of the match.

2. After Brett Lee, no bowler could take a hat-trick in the T20 World Cup for 13 years. On 18 October 2021, Ireland’s Curtis Campher broke this ‘barrier’ against Netherlands in Abu Dhabi. He hunted Dutch team’s Colin Ackerman, Ryan ten Doeschate, Scott Edwards and Roelof van der Merwe with consecutive balls. Campher, born in South Africa, took four wickets in four consecutive balls in the match. During the batting of Netherlands, Campher had Ackerman caught by wicketkeeper Rock on the second ball of the 10th over of the innings. Ten Doeschate and Edwards were LBW on the next two balls. Campher made his fourth consecutive ‘victory’ by bowling Van der Merwe on the 5th ball of the over. The match was won by Ireland by 7 wickets and fast bowler Campher (4/26) was the player of the match.

Batsmen who played 80+ innings in ODI, neither 4 nor 6, still remained player of the match.

3. Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga and South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada have also taken hat-tricks in the T20 World Cup 2021. On 30 October 2021, in the Sharjah match against South Africa, Wanindu Hasaranga bowled Aiden Markram on the last ball of the 15th over of the innings and bowled out Temba Bavuma and Dwayne Pretorius on the first two balls of his next and 17th overs of the innings. Wickets were taken. Bavuma was caught by Nishanka while Pretorius was caught by Rajapaksa. However, despite the brilliant bowling of leg break bowler Hasaranga (3/20), Sri Lanka lost the match by 4 wickets.

4. The third hat-trick in the T20 World Cup 2021 was in the name of South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada. On 6 November 2021, during England’s batting in Sharjah, Rabada had dismissed Chris Woakes (catch Norkia), captain Eoin Morgan (catch Maharaj) and Chris Jordan (catch Miller) on the first three balls of the last innings i.e. 20th over. South Africa won the match by 10 runs due to Rabada’s bowling (3/48) but the player of the match was Rassie van der Dussen who scored 94 runs.

Anonymous bowler holds record for bowling most maiden overs in T20I, 2 Indians in top 5

5. After T20 World Cup 2021, two hat-tricks were made in T20 World Cup 2022 also. The first hat-trick was recorded by Karthik Meiyappan of United Arab Emirates (UAE) against Sri Lanka in the match at Geelong on 18 October 2022. During Sri Lanka’s batting, he dismissed Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka and captain Dasun Shanaka respectively on the fourth, fifth and sixth balls of the 15th over. Leg break bowler Meiyappan took three wickets for 19 runs in a spell of four overs, despite this the UAE team had to face a defeat of 79 runs in the match.

5. The last hat-trick of the T20 World Cup is in the name of Josh Little of Ireland. He took the wickets of Kane Williamson, James Neesham and Mitchell Santner on consecutive balls in the match against New Zealand on 4 November 2022. Williamson was caught by Delaney on the second ball of the 19th over of the innings, while Neesham was out LBW on the third ball and Santner was out LBW on the fourth ball. Despite the brilliant performance (3/22) of left arm fast bowler Little, New Zealand won the match by 35 runs and Kiwi captain Williamson, who scored 61 runs on 35 balls, was the player of the match.

tag: brett lee, ICC T20 World Cup, ICC World T20, Kagiso Rabada, t20 world cup, Wanindu Hasaranga

Share on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *